City of Newark

City Hall 920 Broad Street Newark, New Jersey 07102



Meeting Minutes - Final

Inauguration/Organization Meeting

Sunday, July 1, 2018 12:00 PM

New Jersey Performance Arts Center

Municipal Council

President Mildred C. Crump
Council Member Augusto Amador
Council Member Carlos M. Gonzalez
Council Member John Sharpe James
Council Member Joseph A. McCallum, Jr.
Council Member LaMonica R. McIver
Council Member Eddie Osborne
Council Member Luis A. Quintana
Council Member Anibal Ramos, Jr.

Kenneth Louis, City Clerk

Kathleen Marchetti, Deputy City Clerk

The Inauguration of the Mayor and Members of the Municipal Council of the City of Newark, New Jersey was held on the above date at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Newark, New Jersey at 12:15 p.m.

Arts High School Jazz Band performed various musical selections.

City Clerk Kenneth Louis gave the welcome and introduced the Mistress of Ceremony, Jerusha Schulze.

The Grouping of the Colors was presented by the Departmenmt of Public Safety Color Guard.

The Stars Spangled Banner was led by Maysa Washington.

Life Every Voice and Sing was performed by Roni S. Montgomery.

The invocation was delivered by Reverend Vincent M. Rouse, Sr., Pastor, Pleasant Grove Baptist Church.

Ms. Schulze introduced several dignitaries who were in attendance on this occassion.

City Clerk Kenneth Louis presented Certifications of Election to the Mayor and Members of the Municipal Council.

City Clerk Kenneth Louis introduced the Honorable Phil Murphy, Govenor of the State of New Jersey.

Followed by a brief message to the audience, the Honorable Phil Murphy held the bible as the City Clerk Kenneth Louis administered the Oath of Office to Mayor Ras J. Baraka.

The Inaugural Address was given by Mayor Ras J. Baraka.

The Oath of Office was administered to the Members of the Municipal Council by City Clerk Kennth Louis, which was followed by addresses by Members of the Municipal Council.

The ceremonies concluded with a benediction by Pastor Carmelo Roman of Temple Rock.

The Seventeenth Organization Meeting of the Municipal Council of the City of Newark, New Jersey was held at New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Newark, New Jersey at 2:18 p.m.

City Clerk Louis called the meeting to order and asked for a Roll-Call.

ROLL CALL

Present: 9 - Augusto Amador, Carlos M. Gonzalez, John Sharpe James, Joseph A. McCallum Jr., LaMonica R. McIver, Eddie Osborne, Luis A. Quintana, Anibal Ramos Jr., and Mildred C. Crump

Invocation

Reverend Jorge Acosta
Our Lady of Good Counsel

STATEMENT ON OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT

Deputy Clerk Kenneth Louis stated: In accordance with New Jersey P.I. 1975, Chapter 231, Section 5, adequate notice of this meeting has been provided by notifying by mail the Star Ledger and the Jersey Journal by posting on the designated bulletin board in the basement of City Hall and by filing in the Office of the City Clerk on December 31, 2017 the schedule of regular meetings and conferences of the Newark Municipal Council.

The City Clerk certified results for the Newark Municipal Election held on May 8, 2018 and Run-Off Election held on June12, 2018 and declared the Honorable Ras J. Baraka elected Mayor of the City of Newark; the Honorable Augusto Amador elected Council Member of the East Ward, the Honorable Mildred C. Crump elected Council Member-at-Large, the Honorable Carlos M. Gonzalez elected Council Member-at Large, the Honorable James Sharpe James elected Council Member of the South Ward, the Honorable Joseph A. McCallum, Jr. elected Council Member of the West Ward, the Honorable LaMonica McIver elected Council Member of the Central Ward, the Honorable Eddie Osborne elected Council Member-at-Large, the Honorable Luis A. Quintana elected Council Member-at-Large, the Honorable Anibal Ramos, Jr. elected Council Member of the North Ward in accordance with the statutes provided.

The City Clerk announced the next order of business would be the election of the Council President and Vice-President.

RESOLUTIONS

7R8 Municipal Council and City Clerk

7R8-a <u>18-1082</u>

Resolution electing a President, of the Newark Municipal Council for the term July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2022.

A motion was made by the Council of the Whole to appoint Mildred C. Crump, President, of the Municipal Council. The motion was adopted by the following votes:

Yes: 9 - Augusto Amador, Carlos M. Gonzalez, John Sharpe James, Joseph A. McCallum Jr., LaMonica R. McIver, Eddie Osborne, Luis A. Quintana, Anibal Ramos Jr., and Mildred C. Crump

7R8-b 18-1083

Resolution electing a Vice-President, of the Newark Municipal Council for the term July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2022.

A motion was made by the Council of the Whole to appoint Luis A. Quintana, Vice-President, of the Municipal Council. The motion was adopted by the following votes:

Yes: 9 - Augusto Amador, Carlos M. Gonzalez, John Sharpe James, Joseph A. McCallum Jr., LaMonica R. McIver, Eddie Osborne, Luis A. Quintana, Anibal Ramos Jr., and Mildred C. Crump

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by the Council of the Whole to Adjourn this meeting at 2:27 p.m. The motion was adopted by the following votes:

Yes: 9 - Augusto Amador, Carlos M. Gonzalez, John Sharpe James, Joseph A. McCallum Jr., LaMonica R. McIver, Eddie Osborne, Luis A. Quintana, Anibal Ramos Jr., and Mildred C. Crump

MILDRED C. CRUMP
PRESIDENT OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL
NEWARK, NEW JERSEY

KENNETH LOUIS
CLERK OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL
NEWARK, NEW JERSEY