

# City of Newark

City Hall 920 Broad Street Newark, New Jersey 07102

# **Legislation Details**

**File #:** 15-1561 **Version:** 1 **Name:** 

Type: Resolution Status: Filed

File created: 8/10/2015 In control: Municipal Council and City Clerk

**On agenda:** 9/2/2015 **Final action:** 9/2/2015

Title: RECOGNIZING & COMMENDING

## Sponsored by President Mildred C. Crump

- 1. Individuals during the Gospel Music Month Pre-Kickoff on Friday, June 5, 2015 at City Hall, Newark Municipal Council Chamber
- 2. Ms. Kathleen DiChiara, President, Founder and CEO, Community FoodBank of New Jersey
- 3. Individuals of the Junior Entrepreneurs Club Training Program, Inc. Awards Dinner on Friday, June 12, 2015
- 4. Mr. Miguel Rivera, Electrician, Department of Engineering, Division of Traffic and Signals on his retirement from the City of Newark after 27 years of service
- 5. Individuals of the 2015 Explorers Graduation, The Explorers Program held at the Newark Museum on Wednesday, June 10, 2015
- 6. Ms. Marguerite Willis, Outstanding Community Service Award
- 7. Ms. Linda Washington, 2015 Donald K. Tucker Seniors Award Luncheon Honoree
- 8. Mr. Ronald Smith on his retirement from the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, (June, 1984-June, 2015)
- 9. The Honorable D. Bilal Beasley, former Essex County Freeholder and Irvington Municipal Council Member, Posthumous Honoree, Mr. Carlos G. Ortiz, V.P. and General Counsel for Goya Foods, Inc., Imam Wahy-ud Deen Shareef, Shareef Professional Services, LLC (SPS), Mr. Darren Scott Dowdy, President of Razac Products, Inc., Reverend Dr. Kenneth L. Pearman, Reaching Out For Jesus Christian Center and Valentine J. Burroughs, MD, MBA, CHCQM that are being honored during Judge Ted Stephens Annual Father's Day Luncheon on Saturday, June 20, 2015
- 10. Pastor Reverend Dr. Timothy Burgess, Consecration Services for Bishop-Elect, Saturday, July 11, 2015

#### Sponsored by Council Member Augusto Amador

- 11. The "Best of the Best" for Hawkins Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 12. CTG, (Saudade da Minha Terra)
- 13. The "Best of the Best" for Ann Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 14. The "Best of the Best" for Lafayette Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 15. The "Best of the Best" for South Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 16. The "Best of the Best" for Wilson Avenue School for the school year 2014-2015
- 17. Emily Dos Santos for the Citizenship Award and Katherine Silva for the Achievement Award at Lafayette Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 18. Catalina Franco for the Citizenship Award and Brianna Pinheiro for the Achievement Award at Ironbound Academy for the school year 2014-2015
- 19. Emily Hamberland for the Citizenship Award and Leticia Ferreira for the Achievement Award at Wilson Avenue School for the school year 2014-2015
- 20. Gabriel Margaca for the Citizenship Award and Nylah Williams for the Achievement Award at Oliver Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 21. Julio Rodriguez for the Citizenship Award and Kyle Mincey for the Achievement Award at Hawkins Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 22. Maritza Caguana for the Citizenship Award and Ebony Rosa Nunes for the Achievement Award at Ann Street School for the school year 2014-2015
- 23. Francisco Abreu, Head Coach
- 24. Paulo Baptista, Manager
- 25. Carlos Lopes, Assistant Coach

- 26. Members of the Ironbound SC U18 Elite being crowned the 2015 New Jersey Youth Soccer Championship Series Champions
- 27. Carlos Chaves, Assistant Director of Coaching
- 28. Steve Amorim, Director of Coaching
- 29. John M. Soares, Director of Operations
- 30. Alberto Coutinho, Chairman
- 31. Jorge Gonzalez, Assistant Director of Operations
- 32. Herminia Marques, Director of Finance
- 33. Diolinda Soares, Assistant Director of Finance
- 34. Zaida Santos, Director of Administration
- 35. Dora Fernandez, Registrar
- 36. Florinda Fernandes, Conduct Committee
- 37. Joao Sousa, Conduct Committee
- 38. Major Joaquin Calvo, Salvation Army Representative
- 39. Louis Williams, Custodian, South Street School
- 40. Ramon L. Aquino, Teacher, South Street School
- 41. Joanne McNamara, Teacher, South Street School
- 42. Raymond Rosa, Teacher, South Street School
- 43. Ellen Silva, Clerk, South Street School
- 44. Rosa Lasso, Community Service Award
- 45. William Rodriguez, Community Service Award
- 46. Austin Verissimo, Community Service Award
- 47. Manuela Iglesias, Community Service Award
- 48. Friendship Edioma, Community Service Award
- 49. Andreia marques, Team Manage

# Sponsored by Council Member Carlos M. Gonzalez

- 50. Mr. Edwin Reyes, Principal, Technology High School
- 51. Students being honored from Technology High Scholl during their Senior Awards Ceremony

#### Sponsored by Council Member John Sharpe James

- 52. Good Neighbor Baptist church 20th Pastoral Anniversary, (1995-2015)
- 53. Reverend Dr. Milton R. Biggham, 22nd Pastoral Anniversary, Mount Vernon Missionary Church

#### Sponsored by Council Member Gayle Chaneyfield Jenkins

- 54. E. Jaguar Beckford, Founder & CEO, Jag & Company Clothier, Rainbow Fashion Week, Inc. and Rainbow Fashion Week Dream Academy
- 55. Mr. Lamont Thomas, Principal, Science High School
- 56. North Jersey Community Research Initiative (NJCRI)

#### Sponsored by Council Member Joseph A. McCallum, Jr.

- 57. Ms. Minnie Pickett and Ms. Grace O'Campo on their retirement as teachers at Mount Vernon Elementary School from the Newark Public Schools System
- 58. Ms. Sheila Miller, Ms. Enid Olsen and Ms. Rhonda Fleming on their retirement as teachers at Mount Vernon Elementary School from the Newark Public Schools System
- 59. Michelle L. Howard on her retirement from the Newark Public Schools System
- 60. Carol Ann Mendola on her retirement from the Newark Public Schools System

#### Sponsored by Council Member Luis A. Quintana

61. Krug's Tavern, celebrating 83 years of business

#### Sponsored by Council Member Anibal Ramos, Jr.

- 62. Individuals during the 18th Festival del Mapeye
- 63. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Roberto Clemente Elementary School
- 64. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Barringer Academy of the Arts & Humanities
- 65. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Barringer S.T.E.A.M. Academy
- 66. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Maria Varisco-Rodgers Charter School
- 67. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Branch Brook School
- 68. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Abington Avenue School

## File #: 15-1561, Version: 1

- 69. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Elliott Street School
- 70. "Best of the Best Top 10" form Ridge Street School
- 71. "Best of the Best Top 10" from McKinley Elementary School
- 72. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Luis Munoz Marin School of Social Justice
- 73. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Dr. William H. Horton Elementary School
- 74. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Technology High School
- 75. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Robert Treat Academy Charter School
- 76. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Ironbound Community Corporation Environmental Justice Leadership Institute
- 77. "Best of the Best Top 10" from First Avenue School
- 78. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Dr. E. Alma Flagg School
- 79. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Park Elementary School
- 80. Phil Neto, Owner of Neto Construction, 2015 County of Essex Portuguese Heritage Month Honoree
- 81. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Rafael Hernandez School (List I)
- 82. "Best of the Best Top 10" from Rafael Hernandez School (List II)

Sponsors:

Council of the Whole

Indexes:

#### Code sections:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/2/2015	1	Municipal Council	Adopt	Pass